top of page

What is Speaking in Tongues?

Is it for today?


"...praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints,..." Eph 6:18 AMP


Do we realize how powerful praying in the Spirit is? What does it mean to pray in the Spirit?


"But you, beloved, build yourselves up [founded] on your most holy faith [make progress, rise like an edifice higher and higher], praying in the Holy Spirit;..." Jud 1:20 AMP


There is only One gift which God has given to us to build ourselves up: "He who speaks in a [strange] tongue edifies and improves himself,... " 1Cor 14:4


We pray in the Spirit when we pray in a new strange tongue of the Holy Spirit - building ourselves up!


Does everybody pray in tongues? NOT YET!! Is this gift for everybody? YES!!!


Why? Because God gave it to us so that we could build up ourselves in the Holy Spirit! Why would God ONLY want certain individuals to be built up in His Spirit and not others? Would that not be partiality? God gave all of us the SAME measure of His Spirit, in whom are all the gifts of Christ!


Therefore Paul says: "So too the [Holy] Spirit comes to our aid and bears us up in our weakness; for we do not know what prayer to offer nor how to offer it worthily as we ought, but the Spirit Himself goes to meet our supplication and pleads in our behalf with unspeakable yearnings and groanings too deep for utterance." Rom 8:26 AMP


And for those who believe that this gift has perished with use or with the death of the apostles: To whom did Jesus promise? "And these signs will accompany those who believe: in my name they will cast out demons; they will speak in new tongues; 18 they will pick up serpents with their hands; and if they drink any deadly poison, it will not hurt them; they will lay their hands on the sick, and they will recover." Mark 16:17-18 AMP


Was it not to those who believe? We forget that faith in God has never changed! As a matter of fact, Jesus promised:


"10 Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works. 11 Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else believe on account of the works themselves. 12 "Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. 13 Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it." John 14:10 AMP


The reason many in the church does not speak in tongues is because of ignorance and unbelief! Jesus told us: "If we only believe..." We will do what He has done! He told His disciples that those who BELIEVE will speak in new tongues!


What an awesome gift! And that is what it is: A free GIFT from God! We can just ask God and He will give it to us! (Luke 11:13)


Many think it is just babbling and ‘make belief,’ but what, if I told you, that God has many times used me to interpret tongues and that God Himself has often confirmed the interpretation by the accompanying fulfillment of that which was interpreted or prophesied?


Glory to God, who love us, and in Christ, has given us an awesome GIFT, to build up our spirits, by the Spirit of Jesus Christ in us!


Help restoring the truth to Jesus’ church (Act 3:21-23)

http://hvwitness.wixsite.com/cojc/prophecy-1/

email: info.cojc@gmail.com

“Restoration to the original is always the best. Radical return to the way the Lord Jesus Christ demonstrated and gave it to His disciples.”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page